Alumni Association hosts second annual awards program for exceptional graduates

Alumni Association hosts second annual awards program for exceptional graduates

Rowan President Ali Houshmand addresses celebrated alumni.

The Rowan University Alumni Association held its second annual Alumni Awards Reception May 20 in recognition of a wide group of graduates who live their lives “#Rowan Proud.”

Honorees included Under 40 Award recipients Julia Giacoboni ’09; Dr. Christina Requa ’12; Dr. Tara Marie Beck ’19; and Taylor Henry ’18, M’21, for contributions to their fields.

Also recognized were Community Impact Award recipient Jaclyn Navara '13, who was honored for volunteer service; poet and author Janet Hamill ’67, who received Rowan’s 2024 Distinguished Alumna Award at Commencement; Global Impact Award recipient Caitlin Terry ’05; and Lifetime Service Award recipient Betty Bowe Castor ’63, for continuous dedication and service to the University.

Said Terry, who was recognized for her ongoing commitment to improving the lives of others by helping provide access to clean drinking water in developing nations: “Receiving the Global Impact Award was incredibly humbling. It was a privilege to share this recognition at the reception with my professors, Dr. (Kauser) Jahan and Dr. (Yusuf) Mehta, whose guidance and inspiration encouraged and equipped me to live out my passion.”

The evening also honored members of the Calakos family in the Alumni Association’s annual Legacy Family Competition. In all, eight members of the family graduated from Rowan, most of whom excelled as educators.

Calakos family honorees included Angela (Moniodis) Calakos ’88, and her sisters, Katina (Moniodis) Kanakis ’80 and Cynthia (Moniodis) Doulis ’84. Second generation Calakos family graduates include Mary Kaskabas ’03, Steven Calakos ’08, Kristina Rowe ’12, Angela Doulis ’19, and Katina Lampropoulos ’11. 

Presenting the family with their award was Alumni Board of Directors member and acting Vineland High School Principal Debi Quinn ’88.

The evening also honored current and former members of the Alumni Association board, including Jeff Hickman '95, Gina Lemanowicz Pusloski '03, and Anthony Ray Phillips ’83 for completing their terms.

“The Alumni Awards Reception is a wonderful way for our volunteer-led Alumni Board of Directors to finish the year,” said Director of Alumni Engagement Chris D’Angelo ’07, M’10. “This new tradition not only celebrates and recognizes the impressive achievements of our alums, but it shines a spotlight on the volunteer leadership that makes the Rowan University Alumni Association such an integral and impactful component of our community.”

The Alumni Association continually seeks nominees for this rich, and developing, University tradition. Please suggest nominees for the Legacy Family Competition and Alumni Awards Program and they might be honored next year.