Dobbins appointed to prestigious advisory committee

Dobbins appointed to prestigious advisory committee


Dr. Tabbetha Dobbins, vice president for Rowan University’s Division of Research and dean of the School of Graduate Studies, has been appointed to the Department of Energy’s Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (BESAC).This is a portrait of Dr. Tabbetha Dobbins, a Black woman with dark curly hair threaded with silver strands. She is smiling and wearing a tweed suit jacket over a dark blouse.

The committee provides valuable, independent advice to the federal agency on the national Basic Energy Sciences Program regarding complex scientific and technical issues.

BESAC's recommendations include advice on establishing research and facilities priorities; determining proper program balance among disciplines; and identifying opportunities for interlaboratory collaboration, program integration and industrial participation.

The committee’s 30 members primarily include representatives of universities, national laboratories and industries involved in energy-related scientific research. 

Appointed by J. Stephen Binkley, acting director of the Office of Science, Dobbins will serve on the committee through 2024 and will contribute her expertise in the fields of x-ray, neutron, and electron scattering.