IEEE names seven Rowan Engineering students PES 2017-2018 scholars

IEEE names seven Rowan Engineering students PES 2017-2018 scholars


The IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Scholarship Plus Initiative has named seven students from the Henry M. Rowan College of Engineering at Rowan University as 2017-2018 PES scholars. IEEE designated more students from Rowan as PES scholars than from any other university (with the exception of the University of Illinois – Urbana Champaign, which tied with Rowan).

The Rowan students, all from New Jersey, are: Michael Giuliano, 20, a junior from Washington Township; Sean Hastings, 21, a junior from Jackson; Cameron Korzeniowski, 20, a sophomore from Egg Harbor Township; Raymond Linden, 21, a senior from Hammonton; Nicolas Natale, 21, a senior from Long Branch; Melody Tashjian, 21, a senior from Red Bank; and Aaron Yangello, 22, a senior from Pennsville.

The PES scholar program awards students who are high achievers with strong GPAs, distinctive extracurricular activities and a commitment to exploring the power and energy field. Students are eligible for up to $7,000 during the course of three years.

“I am delighted that these seven Rowan students have been named IEEE PES scholars,” said Dr. Robi Polikar, professor and department head of Electrical and Computer Engineering. “This scholarship provides high visibility for our students and an amazing opportunity for them to advance their careers in this field.”

Polikar added, “We are extremely proud of the exceptional talent these students displayed in order to earn this prestigious award and ranking. They students continue to demonstrate their commitment to improving the power and energy field by applying their versatile knowledge and skills to ultimately better our society.”

IEEE named 210 PES Scholarship undergraduate recipients from the 548 individuals who applied from 116 universities across the United States and Canada. These scholarships are made possible due to the donations of individuals and corporations to the IEEE PES Scholarship Fund of the IEEE Foundation.