Rowan faculty and staff honored at Celebrating Excellence Awards

Rowan faculty and staff honored at Celebrating Excellence Awards


It was an evening of celebration on Thursday, April 11, as members of the Rowan University community came together to honor faculty and staff members for their extraordinary work to uphold the values of the University.

During the annual Celebrating Excellence Awards, 16 individuals and one very large team accepted awards for their distinguished work in a host of areas, including outstanding and innovative teaching, research and scholarship, mentorship, student-centeredness, teamwork, inclusivity, diversity, entrepreneurship, customer service and engagement.

The following members of the Rowan community were honored:

Kevin Dahm
Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award
Kevin D. Dahm, Department of Chemical Engineering


Erin Hannah
Joseph A. Barnes Award for Outstanding Service
Erin M. Hannah, University Advising Services


Alicia Monroe
Gary J. Hunter Excellence in Mentoring Award
Alicia S. Monroe, Office of Career Advancement


Luke Trusel
Faculty Research Achievement Award
Luke Trusel, Department of Geology


Brent ElderJoseph Higgins
Frances S. Johnson Junior Faculty Innovative Teaching Award
Brent C. Elder, Department of Interdisciplinary and Inclusive Education
Joseph Higgins, Department of Music


Ben Dworkin
Benjamin A. Dworkin, Rowan Institute for Public Policy & Citizenship


Lindsay Rosato
Customer Service
Lindsay Rosato, University Advising Services


Sean Hendricks
Sean Hendricks, Academic Support Services


Ambre McKenna
Ambre McKenna, Student Center and Campus Activities


Stephen Fleming
Stephen Fleming, College of Humanities & Social Sciences


Suhail Johnson
Teamwork (Individual honor)
Suhail Johnson, Residential Learning and Social Justice, Inclusion & Conflict Resolution


First-Generation Task Force
Teamwork (Team honor)
First-Generation Task Force


Ruben Britt Jr.
Excellence in Diversity for Scholarship
Ruben Britt Jr., Office of Career Advancement


Kate Kedley
Excellence in Diversity for Social Activism
Kate E. Kedley, Department of Language, Literacy and Sociocultural Education


Katie Barillas and Steve Fernandez
Excellence in Diversity for a Group Project
Katie Barillas and Steve Fernandez, Department of Experiential Engineering Education