Professional groups appoint Rowan science faculty to national committees

Professional groups appoint Rowan science faculty to national committees


The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named Dr. Gregory Caputo, department head of the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry at Rowan University, to its Committee on Professional Training (CPT), a joint committee of the ACS Council and Board of Directors, for 2018. The CPT promotes excellence in postsecondary chemistry education and provides leadership to the ACS in the professional training of chemists. ACS committees serve as working forums for comments and proposals regarding the conduct of present and future programs of the society.

He has served as a member of the executive committee of the South Jersey section of the ACS since 2011 and is also an active member of the Biophysical Society and the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB). At Rowan, he has been actively involved in the modernization and development of curricula, with extensive involvement in the development of the B.S. programs in Bioinformatics, Translational Biomedical Sciences and Molecular and Cellular Biology, as well as the accreditation of the Biochemistry degree program by the ASBMB.

Caputo, in his fifth year as department head and 11th as a faculty member, researches the development of novel antimicrobial molecules and antimicrobial surfaces. The National Institutes of Health, ACS, New Jersey Health Foundation and private industry have funded his work. 

Caputo earned a B.S. in chemical biology from The Stevens Institute of Technology and Ph.D. in molecular and cellular biology with a concentration in physical biochemistry from Stony Brook University. He was a postdoctoral scholar at the Texas A&M University Health Sciences Center and a National Institutes of Health Ruth Kirchstein postdoctoral fellow at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. 

The American Physical Society (APS) has appointed Dr. Karen Magee-Sauer, dean of the College of Science & Mathematics at Rowan University and a professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy, to its Committee on Education (COE). The three-year appointment began Jan. 1.

The COE is responsible for activities to increase the number of students taking and pursuing the study of physics in a high-quality and inclusive environment. It serves to inform and educate students, teachers, parents, employers and policy makers about benefits and career opportunities provided by an education in physics.

Magee-Sauer, in her fourth year as dean, joined the Rowan faculty in 1989. She is a member of the APS and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She currently serves as the principal investigator on a PhysTEC grant funded by the APS and American Association of Physics Teachers to increase the number of high-quality physics teachers.

Prior to serving as dean, Magee-Sauer focused her research on the composition of comets through high-spectral resolution observations funded by both NASA and the National Science Foundation. She has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals, presented at conferences nationally and internationally and served on various professional committees. The International Astronomical Union's Committee for Small Body Nomenclature named an asteroid in her honor, 15632 Magee-Sauer, for advancing the understanding of the chemistry of comets.

Magee-Sauer earned an M.S. and Ph.D. in physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

“These appointments to national committees reflect the caliber of faculty and programs in the Rowan University College of Science & Mathematics,” said Dr. James Newell, provost. “Drs. Magee-Sauer and Caputo will bring extensive experience to these organizations and will further their missions.”